Menu Close

What are the JNC stages of hypertension?

What are the JNC stages of hypertension?

Subjects were classified according to the JNC VI criteria: normal (<130/<85 mm Hg); high-normal (130-139/85-89 mm Hg); stage 1 hypertension (140-159/90-99 mm Hg); or stage 2 or greater hypertension (≥160/≥100 mm Hg).

What is the criteria for pre hypertension?

Prehypertension is defined as a systolic pressure from 120–139 millimeters of mercury (mm Hg) or a diastolic pressure from 80–89 mm Hg. Because blood pressure changes often, your health care provider will check it on several different days before deciding whether your blood pressure is too high.

How is HTN classified?

The four categories currently used to classify hypertension are normal, prehypertension, and stages 1 and 2 hypertension. The population identified with prehypertension includes a subgroup with early CVD.

What is essential HTN?

Primary Hypertension (Formerly Known as Essential Hypertension) Essential (primary) hypertension occurs when you have abnormally high blood pressure that’s not the result of a medical condition. This form of high blood pressure is often due to obesity, family history and an unhealthy diet.

What are current JNC guidelines?

Patients should be treated to a target systolic pressure of less than 150 mm Hg and a target diastolic pressure of less than 90 mm Hg. Treatment does not need to be adjusted if it results in a systolic pressure lower than 140 mm Hg, as long as it is not associated with adverse effects on health or quality of life.

What are the 5 different levels of hypertension?

Hypertension stages

  • Normal: systolic less than 120 mm Hg and diastolic less than 80 mm Hg.
  • Elevated: systolic between 120-129 mm Hg and diastolic less than 80 mm Hg.
  • Stage 1: systolic between 130-139 mm Hg or diastolic between 80-89 mm Hg.
  • Stage 2: systolic at least 140 mm Hg or diastolic at least 90 mm Hg.

What is the difference between hypertension and essential hypertension?

Hypertension occurs when the force of blood is stronger than it should be normally. Most cases of high blood pressure are classified as essential hypertension. The other kind of hypertension is secondary hypertension. Secondary hypertension is high blood pressure that has an identifiable cause, such as kidney disease.

Posted in Cool Ideas