Menu Close

What schools make up the MEAC conference?

What schools make up the MEAC conference?

Current members

Institution Location Nickname
Morgan State University Baltimore, Maryland Bears
Norfolk State University Norfolk, Virginia Spartans
North Carolina Central University Durham, North Carolina Eagles
South Carolina State University Orangeburg, South Carolina Bulldogs/Lady Bulldogs

Who’s in the MEAC conference?


  • Coppin State Eagles. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.
  • Delaware State Hornets.
  • Howard Bison.
  • Maryland-Eastern Shore Hawks.
  • Morgan State Bears.
  • Norfolk State Spartans.
  • North Carolina Central Eagles.
  • South Carolina State Bulldogs.

What conference is HBCUs?

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) is a collegiate athletic conference headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama, which is made up of historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) in the Southern United States.

Is MEAC a d1?

The MEAC sponsors 15 Division I (FCS) sports: women’s bowling, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, football, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s track & field, softball, volleyball and men’s golf.

What schools left the MEAC?

The Bison would join former MEAC members North Carolina A and Hampton as members of the CAA. The exile began in 2018 when Hampton moved to the Big South Conference. Three years later, North Carolina A followed the Pirates while Bethune-Cookman and Florida A&M opted for the Southwest Athletic Conference.

How many HBCU conferences are there?

There are 5 traditional HBCU conferences.

How many HBCUs are in the NAIA?

Today, 21 of the 105 institutions designated HBCU are members of the NAIA: Arkansas Baptist College. Dillard University (La.)

What is the difference between MEAC and SWAC?

The Cricket MEAC/SWAC Challenge is an annual Historically Black College and University (HBCU) football game that showcases teams from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) and the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC). The Cricket MEAC/SWAC Challenge is owned and operated by ESPN Events, a division of ESPN.

Why does NCAT leave MEAC?

The Greensboro-based Aggies at North Carolina A will play MEAC schedules for 2020-21 before taking on a full Big South schedule. Bethune-Cookman and Florida A&M are leaving MEAC to join the only other historically black NCAA Division I confer- ence, the Southwestern Athletic Conference, or SWAC.

Are there any Division 1 HBCU?

There are 5 traditional HBCU conferences. In Division 1, the SWAC is original article….

School North Carolina A State University
Affiliation NCAA D1
Conference Big South
Football M
Basketball M/W

What teams are in the Sun Belt conference?

Coastal Carolina Chanticlee…Arkansas State Red Wolves foo…Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns foo…Texas State Bobcats footballSouth Alabama Jaguars fo…Georgia Southern Eagles foo…
NCAA Sun Belt Conference Football/Teams

What conference is temple in?

NCAA American Athletic Conference FootballTemple Owls football / Conference

Is MAAC conference d1?

The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC, /mæk/) is a collegiate athletic conference affiliated with NCAA Division I, consisting of eleven schools located in three states of the northeastern United States: Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York.

How do you pronounce MEAC?

MEAC (pronounced MEE-ack) is an acronym for Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference. NOT Mid-East Athletic Conference. NOT Mid-Eastern Athletics Conference. It is preferred that media outlets not pronounce the conference name by spelling out the letters for MEAC (i.e., M-E-A-C); we prefer to be referred to as “the MEE-ack.”

Posted in Useful advices